Ginger Teff Muffins

Mmmmm….muffins.  Have I already shared how much I like muffins?  I think I may have back in my post about my lemon blueberry muffins I made with almond flour.  One of the reasons I love muffins so much these days is that I have a hard time eating a real breakfast in the morning, what with being a teacher and getting up so early.  Muffins are the perfect on the go breakfast food, as long as they are not laden with sugar.  For me, muffins need to pack some nutritional and delicious goodness into each bite to be worth eating.

If you have ever eating Ethiopian food, you have had Teff flour.  It is the main ingredient in injera, the Ethiopian flatbread served alongside delicious meats and vegetables and is used in place of silverware.  You can read more about teff HERE. (Thanks Wikipedia!)

You can purchase teff flour at Whole Foods and I buy my arrowroot powder from Penzey’s Spices.  Enjoy!

Ginger Teff Muffins

Ingredients

1/2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons teff flour
1/4 cup arrowroot flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons ginger
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 Tablespoons grapeseed oil
4 Tablespoons water
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 Tablespoons agave
4 Tablespoons molasses
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 medium overripe bananas, mashed

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 350°F.  Spray 6 muffin cups with non-stick cooking spray.  If using a 12-muffin cup tin, use the outside edges.

2. In a medium mixing bowl stir together teff flour, arrowroot powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger and salt.

3. Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients.  Add oil, water, vanilla, agave, molasses, eggs and banana to the center of the bowl.  Stir all ingredients together to combine.  Do not over mix. The mixture will be liquidy.

4. Evenly distribute batter between 6 muffin tins.  The tins will be full to the top.

5. Bake muffins for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under bread, breakfast, gluten free, nut free, snack, vegetarian

3 responses to “Ginger Teff Muffins

  1. Isa

    YUM!! I may run across the street and grab one of these – I think I can smell them already!! If you need a suggestion as to what to make for Tuesday night – DING – DING- DING!! 🙂 This also makes me think that before you guys are officially in Queens – we need to do Mesob one more time 🙂 LOVE YOU!

  2. Quickly becoming a family fave of ours! My 14 month old daughter would eat these suckers for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! A total winner Andrea!

Leave a Reply

