Ginger Macadamia Brownies

My amazing friend Isa and her husband are having a holiday party, and of course, I asked what I could bring.  Her response: could you make a dessert that uses only natural sugar AND is gluten free AND tastes delicious?  A tall order you might think! But not for this lady!  I knew just who to turn to, gluten free goddess Elana Amsterdam of www.elanaspantry.com fame.  I recently purchased Elana’s cookbook, The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook
and knew she would have something perfect for this party.

I narrowed it down to three choices: chocolate cream pie, a classic carrot cake, and ginger macadamia brownies.  I was rooting for the brownies because I LOVE macadamia nuts.  When I was living in Australia, they were available everywhere and super fresh and I used to eat them all the time!  Luckily, Isa wanted me to make the brownies.  Although, I obviously would have been happy with any of the choices!

I made the recipe with a few tiny changes.  I did not have any 73% cacao dark chocolate, so I used a Hershey’s Special Dark bar and chopped it up into little bits. I typically buy my dark chocolate from Trader Joe’s, but have not been in a while, so my stock has run out.  I also did not grease the pan with grapeseed oil and dust with almond flour, I sprayed my pan with Pam instead.  I also used Kosher salt instead of sea salt.  The directions below are what I did, not what is written in the cookbook.  And without further ado…

Ginger Macadamia Brownies

adapted slightly from the Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook

2 1/2 cups blanched almond flour (I use Honeyville Blanched Almond Meal Flour, 5 lb.)
1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup grapeseed oil
2 large eggs
1 cup agave nectar
1 tablespoon vanilla (my favorite is Charles H. Baldwin and Sons)
1/4 cup peeled and minced fresh ginger
1 cup macadamia nuts, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup coarsely chopped dark chocolate

Pre-heat oven to 350°F.  Spray an 11×7 inch baking dish with cooking spray.  In a large bowl, combine the almond flour, salt, baking soda, and cocoa powder.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the grapeseed oil, eggs, agave nectar, vanilla, and ginger.  Stir the wet ingredients into the almond flour mixture until thoroughly combined.  Stir in the macadamia nuts and chocolate.  Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish.  Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until a knife inserted into the center of the dish comes out clean.  Let cool in the baking dish for 1 hour.  Cut into 20 bars and serve.

The result:

Brian and I both agree that these brownies are a little too gingery for our taste.  If I make them again I might cut back on the ginger a little and add a bit more chocolate, or use a little candied ginger.  They are also more cake-like than the rich brownie I was expecting.  I am undecided if I will bring them to the party-I may just make some gluten free white chocolate chip cookies with added macadamia nuts instead…

6 Comments

Filed under dessert, gluten free, vegetarian

6 responses to “Ginger Macadamia Brownies

  1. Sarah Smith

    They sound delicious. If you decide to bring something else to Isa’s, let me know. I’ll gladly trade you some of the cookies I just baked for some ginger brownies 🙂

    • Andrea Gellerstein

      Sorry Sarah-I decided to do something a bit creative with the brownies…check out the trifle post and you’ll see!

      I will most likely be making some white chocolate macadamia cookies later as well…you are more than welcome to have some of those!

  2. Pingback: Trifle I say! | Feeding Brian

  3. Pingback: Happy Back to School and National Macadamia Nut Day! | Optimal Body Balance

Leave a Reply

