My first post and a (very late) Chanukkah Party!

Hi! I’m Andrea and this is my cooking blog.  There are a bazillion cooking blogs out there and I was nervous to start my own because there are so many.  However, many friends urged me to start documenting the food I cook and bake, so here goes!  I create original recipes and also adapt recipes from other food blogs and cookbooks.  You can read a little more about me by clicking on the about tab.  I hope you enjoy!

While Chanukkah is technically over, we have yet to celebrate with either of our families.  We will finally have a party tomorrow evening and I was in charge of vegetables and dessert.  I made an Orange-Cardamom cake, garlic roasted broccoli, Turkish seasoning roasted cauliflower, and maple roasted carrots.  The cake recipe is below:

Orange Cardamom Cake

Adapted (very slightly)  from Cooking Light, December 2007

 

CAKE:

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. ground cardamom
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 cup fresh orange juice
2/3 cup canola oil
1 Tbsp orange zest
2 tsp. lemon zest
1 tsp. vanilla extract
3 large eggs

GLAZE:

1 cup powdered sugar
4 1/2 tsp. fresh orange juice
1/2 tsp. fresh lemon juice

Pre-heat oven to 350°F.  Coat a 10-inch tube or Bundt pan with cooking spray and set aside.

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, cardamom, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl.  Make a well in the center of the mixture.  Add orange juice, canola oil, orange and lemon zest, vanilla and eggs to flour mixture.  Beat with a mixer on low speed until well combined or just mix well with a wooden spoon.

Spoon batter in prepared pan, spreading evenly.  Bake for 50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool in pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes.  Remove from pan.

To make glaze: combine powered sugar, orange and lemon juice.  Mix well.  Drizzle the glaze over warm cake and let cool completely.

Serves 16.

 

18 Comments

Filed under dessert, vegetarian

18 responses to “My first post and a (very late) Chanukkah Party!

  1. Brian

    This is amazing baby! I love you!

  2. Heather Bates

    I know Brian from Little Kids Rock. My daughter, Grace, sings in the group “Flashback” that began with Little Kids Rock in Nashville, TN. Tell him I said “hi”.

    On another note, I am excited about your blog. I would love the recipe for the garlic roasted broccoli. That, in particular, sounded delish!!!

    Thanks.

  3. LOVE the name of your blog! Its perfect! Can’t wait to try your recipes! xoxo

  4. kate

    Could I substitute gluten-free four for this? xoxo

    • Andrea Gellerstein

      I haven’t tried it yet with GF flour. I was thinking about trying a version with almond flour. Let us know if you try it with GF flour and how it works! If I do one with almond flour I’ll post it too! Thanks for visiting Kate!

  5. Lauren

    Congratulations!! So glad to see you started blogging!! Looking forward to checking this out on a regular basis!

  6. Beautiful my friend!!! I’ll be referring to this often. See you twice next week:)

  7. Mom

    Andrea,
    Love your blog. Brian is a very lucky guy! Looking forward to those veggie recipes.
    XOX,
    Mom

  8. Brian

    The cake was incredible! Not too sweet and a very sophisticated flavor!

  9. Nicole Hartman

    Andrea,
    The cake was delicious! Thank you so much for bringing some in for me today – it was the perfect morning snack! (Shh! Don’t tell my class I was eating cake for snack!)

  10. Erin

    Excellent blog! Looking forward to more entries and multitudinous delicious food concoctions!

Leave a Reply

